Author Topic: Just started playing - here's my five cents  (Read 1050 times)

Llamageddon

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Just started playing - here's my five cents
« on: 15 July 2015, 22:01:42 »
Hello there! I'm Llamageddon, an amateur game developer and designer, and I just started playing CraftTheWorld - and I have to say, I really like it so far, although if I can say so, there's a lot of rough edges in my opinion. Let me apologize for starting a new thread, but I've got quite a lot to say, and besides - I like being able to discuss things, which is a bit tough in a crowded thread. Anyway, without further ado, here's the list of my observations, as to what could use some change, and a few ideas as well:

Interface and visuals:
  • It should be possible to craft items for the first time without having to drag items onto them - it's unnecessary, annoying, and hides the feature of being able to later craft them by just clicking.
  • Speaking of that, there's no reason to drag items once you can just click, and the slots should start filled-in, so that you can craft with one click.
  • Prerequisites, such as crafting stations, or tools(if they'll ever be necessary) of recipes should be displayed to the side of the ingredients window.
  • Hiding tile decorations on zoom out serves no other real purpose than to make things ugly and unrepresentative of how the map really looks - there should at least be an option for it.
  • List items lying around in quantities, and allow using them. It'd make a lot sense for dwarfs to be able to use the dirt they just dug out to patch a hole.
  • Make it possibly to build both background and foreground at once - this would help tremendously with bridging and other construction.

Room, shelter, totem mechanics: